Winners Recognized in Elfin Forest Recreational Reserve’s Eleventh Annual Photo Contest

At its November 2 meeting, OMWD’s Board of Directors honored local photographers for their winning images in Elfin Forest Recreational Reserve’s eleventh annual amateur photo contest.

The annual contest offers photographers an opportunity to share the natural beauty protected at the Reserve through a partnership between OMWD, the US Department of the Interior – Bureau of Land Management, and San Diego County Water Authority. Contest entries assist in educating the public on recreational opportunities, highlight the importance of preserving open space for native habitat, and support the Reserve’s mission to protect wildlife and natural resources for future generations.

“One thing is certain, there is a lot of talent in our community,” stated OMWD Board Director Jerry Varty. “Many of the images evoke emotional responses, taking the viewer to a special place or time.”

Judges selected winners in five categories, and the public participated by choosing their favorite of 15 selected entries posted on the Reserve’s Facebook page for a special People’s Choice award.

2016 EFRR Photo Contest Winners:

  • Best-in-Show – Brian Jolliffe for “Golden Sunburst Over Escondido Creek”
  • Water Scenery – Ivan Segovia-Jimenez for “Elfin”
  • Scenic View – Noah Fayyazuddin for “Elfin Forest”
  • Animals – Michael Cini for “Beautiful but Dangerous”
  • Plants – Peter Gilson for “Grape Leaf Veins”
  • Youth – Lance Hanekamp for “Golden Reflections”
  • People’s Choice – Joseph Rawa for “Waterfall”

Winners received prizes donated by local businesses, including dinner at Jake’s Del Mar, a photography workshop package from the San Diego Zoo, a canvas print from PC Photo & Imaging, outdoor equipment from REI, and a cash prize from the Escondido Creek Conservancy.

Winning photographs will be on display at the Reserve’s Interpretive Center Honoring Susan J. Varty from January 1 to April 30, 2017.


2016 Elfin Forest Recreational Reserve Photo Contest Winners